Hawaii Tourism Authority Members to be Replaced

Gov. Ben Cayetano is replacing six of 13 members on the Hawaii Tourism
Authority when their terms end June 30 with a group that he hopes will
more broadly represent the state`s business community in marketing the
islands to tourists, according to his spokeswoman.

Cayetano has nominated Sharon Weiner, a group vice president with DFS; Nadine
Nakamura, a Kauai County planning consultant; Mike McCartney, a former
state senator and president of Hawaii Public Television; Stephen Yamashiro, a former Big Island mayor and attorney; Lawrence Johnson, the former CEO of Pacific Century Corp.; and Alice Guild, the former executive director of Iolani Palace. The nominees must be confirmed by the state Senate this month.