London 2012 organisers awarded Olympic Orders

15th Aug 2012
London 2012 organisers awarded Olympic Orders London 2012 organisers have been awarded Olympic Orders for their hard work in delivering the Games

Key people involved in the organisation of the London 2012 Olympic Games have been awarded Olympic Orders in recognition of their hard work and achievements over the last seven years.

Jacques Rogge, President of the International Olympic Committee, presented gold Olympic Orders – the highest award of the Olympic Movement – to Seb Coe, chair of the London 2012 Organising Committee (LOCOG), and to Paul Deighton, LOCOG chief executive.

Sir Keith Mills, LOCOG deputy chair, and Colin Moynihan, former chairman of the British Olympic Association, received the silver Olympic Order, as did a number of other senior LOCOG staff who played a crucial role in delivering the London 2012 Games.

IOC President Rogge also presented Mayor of London Boris Johnson with the Olympic Cup as thank you to the people of London for hosting and supporting the Games.


Recommended for you

Related Event

London 2012 Olympics London 2012 Olympics
Event starts: Friday, 27th July 2012

The 2012 Summer Olympic Games kicked off in London, United Kingdom on 27 July and close on 12 August 2012. London became the first city to officially host the modern Olympic Games three times, having previously done so in 1908 and in 1948.

Follow Breaking Travel News

Travel Events Calendar

Media Partnerships

Global Restaurant Investment ForumThe Hospitality & Tourism SummitCATHIC
ITB AsiaChina Outbound Travel & Tourism MarketThe Travel Marketing Store
Serviced Apartment SummitWorld Travel MarketIMEX
AHICWTTCRoutes Online
UBM Aviation