ABTA announces changes following Annual General Meeting

27th Apr 2013
ABTA announces changes following Annual General Meeting

The Travel Association announces that all resolutions were passed at ABTA’s Annual General Meeting held today at 30 Park Street. Chantrey Vellacott were reappointed as ABTA’s auditors and a range of resolutions were passed aimed at simplifying ABTA’s Membership processes; increasing the flexibility of membership of Regional Committees; reducing the allowance paid to the ABTA Chairman; and putting in place processes for the removal of the Chairman by a vote of the Board.

There were also changes to the ABTA Board of Directors and nominations are sought for the role of Chairman.

Lord Fowler and Andy Cooper today step down from their roles as non-executive Directors.  Both have served on the Board for two terms of two years, having been appointed in 2009. Also effective today are the appointment of Doreen McKenzie and the re-appointment of Noel Josephides, following elections in March 2013.

John McEwan’s term of office as Chairman ends this year and nominations are sought for the role. Candidates for the role must be proposed and seconded by current ABTA Board members by 8 May 2013, following which they will be invited to meet the Board. In the event that there are two or more candidates, the election of the Chairman will be by a general Member ballot.


Recommended for you

Follow Breaking Travel News

Travel Events Calendar

Media Partnerships

Global Restaurant Investment ForumThe Hospitality & Tourism SummitCATHIC
ITB AsiaChina Outbound Travel & Tourism MarketThe Travel Marketing Store
Serviced Apartment SummitWorld Travel MarketIMEX
AHICWTTCRoutes Online
UBM Aviation