Breaking Travel News

Trump adds North Korea, Chad and Venezuela to travel ban

Trump adds North Korea, Chad and Venezuela to travel ban

American president Donald Trump has expanded his administration’s controversial travel ban to include citizens of North Korea, Venezuela, and Chad.

A presidential proclamation was issued on Sunday seeking to expand the restrictions.

The White House said the new rules follow a review of information sharing by foreign governments.

“Making America safe is my number one priority.

“We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet,” Trump explained.


The restrictions on Venezuelans apply only to government officials and their family members.

The three new countries join five others from original travel ban enacted earlier this year: Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, and Somalia.

But the new proclamation removed restrictions that were placed on Sudan.

The White House said North Korea did not co-operate with the US government “in any respect” and failed all requirements for travel to the USA.

As such, all travel to the US by its citizens has been banned

Chad did not share terrorism-related and other public information the US required.

Therefore, business and tourist visas for its nationals are suspended, the Trump administration added.

At the same time, only “certain Venezuelan government officials and their immediate family members” have been banned.

A factsheet released by the White House explains the new restrictions in more detail.