Breaking Travel News

FIFA bans executive committee members over corruption

FIFA bans executive committee members over corruption

FIFA has banned executive committee members Amos Adamu and Reynald Temarii for a total of four years following an investigation into corruption.

Adamu was banned from all football-related activity for three years following allegations of corruption regarding the sale of World Cup votes made in the Sunday Times.

Temarii was banned for one year following the investigation.

Pictured: Amos Adamu has been suspended for three years

Both were accused of attempting to sell their votes ahead of a ballot to select the hosts of the 2018 and 2022 FIFA World Cups.

As a result, neither member of the executive committee will now be able to vote in the ballot, scheduled for December 2nd.



Adamu has already indicated his intention to appeal against the verdict delivered today by the chairman of Fifa’s ethics committee, Claudio Sulser.

In a statement the Nigerian said: “I am profoundly disappointed with the Ethics Committee’s findings and had honestly believed I would be exonerated of any charges by now.

“I am innocent of all the charges levelled against me by the Ethics Committee and I completely refute the decision they have made.

“As yet I have not been advised of the grounds of the Ethics Committee’s decision but regardless, I will be lodging a full appeal against it with immediate effect.”

Adamu was also fined CHF10,000 (£6,341) for his part in the affair. Temarii was fined CHF5,000 (£3,170) as part of his sanction.

Four former executive members - Slim Aloulou of Tunisia, Mali’s Amadu Diakite, Ahongalu Fusimalohi of Tonga and Botswana’s Ismael Bhamjee - all also received sanctions from FIFA.


Following a separate investigation, FIFA’s ethics committee dismissed accusations of collusion between Spain/Portugal and Qatar, who are bidding to host the 2018 and 2022 World Cups respectively.

The panel said they didn’t find “sufficient proof” of collusion between bids between Spain, Portugal and Qatar.