Breaking Travel News

WTTC 2014: Kofi Annan leads speaker line-up

WTTC 2014: Kofi Annan leads speaker line-up

The World Travel & Tourism Council’s 2014 Global Summit in Hainan, China, will examine the role of the industry as a force for good in the world, with headline contributions from Kofi Annan, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Yao Ming, economist Dame DeAnne Julius as well as dozens of industry leaders.

WTTC’s 14th Global Summit will explore ‘Changing world, new perspectives’.

Public and private sector leaders from outside and inside the industry and government ministers from all continents will attend the Summit to explore and challenge current received wisdoms and their relevance for the near future.

They will look at tourism from a new angle and define a new proposition that goes beyond the economic agenda, identifying how businesses can benefit from this new way of thinking.

WTTC president David Scowsill said: “We have another outstanding line-up of speakers at our Global Summit in Hainan who will help us to answer some big questions: Can we rely on middle class growth in Asia to drive our industry forward globally?

“Are the industry’s perceptions of China still relevant in the face of China’s phenomenal economic and social developments?

“As tourism increasingly has to compete with other industry sectors for natural and governmental resources, is the economic message the right one?

“What is the role of tourism in the trade agenda?

“Or as a driver of peace, mutual understanding and security?

“There is a lot to talk about, and some outstanding speakers to help us address the biggest global issues affecting our industry.”

Other confirmed speakers/attendees include:

  • Raymond Bickson, managing director, Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces
  • Chen Feng, chairman, HNA Group
  • Ken Chu, chairman, Mission Hills Group
  • Duan Qiang, Beijing Tourism Group
  • Edouard Ettedgui, group chief executive, Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group
  • Fan Min, vice chairman, Ctrip International
  • Jennifer Fox, president, Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
  • Michael Frenzel, chairman of the supervisory board, TUI Deutschland
  • Zhang Guanghui, president, Beijing Capital International Airport
  • Federico González Tejera, chief executive, NH Hotels
  • Paul Griffiths, chief executive, Dubai Airports Corporation
  • Christophe Jouan, chief executive, Future Foundation
  • Henrik Kjellberg, president, Hotwire
  • Gerald Lawless, president, Jumeirah Group
  • Alan Leibman, chief executive, Kerzner International
  • Christopher J Nassetta, president, Hilton Worldwide
  • Masaru Onishi, chairman, Japan Airlines
  • Taleb Rifai, secretary general, UNWTO
  • Richard Solomons, chief executive, InterContinental Hotels Group
  • Arne Sorenson, president, Marriott International
  • Michel Taride, president, Hertz Europe
  • Gordon Wilson, chief executive, Travelport

More Information

The full programme can be viewed here.