Breaking Travel News

Norwegians win EWR Centenary race to the South Pole

Norwegians win EWR Centenary race to the South Pole

Just as they did a hundred years ago, the Norwegians have shown their dominance in exploration and polar racing as Norwegian Team FRAMdrift have won the EWR Centenary Race to the South Pole with a commanding lead over the rest of the field including Welsh and English teams.

Norwegians Erlend Gray, 28, Harvard Svidal, 35, and Mathias Seim, 23, were able to maintain a consistently impressive pace towards the finish line, completing the race comfortably ahead of the other teams competing.

In what is the Centenary year of Captain Robert Scott’s epic journey to reach the South Pole, Team Framdrift have successfully covered the gruelling race across Antarctica, beating the remaining five teams including Welsh team Mercury and English team Centrepoint (team patron HRH Prince William) who are now expected to finish this coming Monday or Tuesday. 

Tony Martin, CEO of race organisers Extreme World Races says their victory is well deserved;  ‘Taking immense mental and physical strength to maintain a steady pace towards the finish line and complete the race comfortably ahead of our remaining teams, what Team Framdrift have achieved should not be underestimated – this is not called the ‘toughest race in the world for nothing!’