Bertrands Cottage, St Helena
Visitors to St Helena Island will soon be able to stay in the cottage that housed one of Napoleon Bonaparte’s most famous officers, Grand Marshall Bertrand.
On October 20th, 1816, Bertrand moved his family into a cottage that had been especially built for him by the British so that he could be closer to Napoleon.
Two hundred years later – to the day - the building, now known as Bertrand’s Cottage, held a preview open day to mark the anniversary and the countdown to its public opening in December 2016 as a restaurant and guest house.
The building, neighbouring Longwood House where Napoleon lived and died in 1821, has been extensively restored by Enterprise St Helena, the body responsible for tourism and economic development on the island.
From early December Bertrand’s Cottage will welcome guests to three en-suite bedrooms and a lounge and restaurant with views across the garden to Deadwood Plain where horseracing took place in Napoleon’s time.
The house will also act as a hospitality training centre.
Speaking about the new addition, St Helena director of tourism, Chris Pickard, said: “General Bertrand is a central figure in Napoleon’s story.
“So much so that his tomb in Paris is next to that of Napoleon himself.
“He followed the Emperor into exile on St Helena and we are delighted that visitors now have a chance to see where he lived, and experience this historical building either by staying with us or enjoying the restaurant and bar.”
ESH and the tourist office hope that the restored Bertrand’s Cottage will become an important tourist attraction in its own right, when viewed alongside Napoleon’s primary residence while in exile, Longwood House.
Bertrand’s Cottage was built in 1816 by the British government for the General and his family who were living half a mile away from Napoleon in Hutts Gate.
It has previously been restored by the St Helena National Trust and in most recent years used as a residential dwelling.