Breaking Travel News

IAG announces board reshuffle

IAG announces board reshuffle

The board of International Consolidated Airlines Group has announced changes to the governance of the group, which will take effect from January 1st 2014.

Antonio Vázquez and Sir Martin Broughton will resign as non-executive chairmen of Iberia and British Airways, respectively, and will continue to focus on their functions as chairman and deputy chairman/senior independent director of IAG.

The role of Iberia chairman and chief executive will be held by Luis Gallego and the role of British Airways chairman and chief executive will be held by Keith Williams.

Both will continue to report into IAG chief executive Willie Walsh.

Luis Gallego and Keith Williams will stand down from the IAG Board to focus on their responsibilities at Iberia and British Airways, respectively.

This means that the IAG Board will be composed of 12 members, of which two will be executive directors (the group chief executive and group chief financial officer).

In addition, Fernando Vives has tendered his resignation as secretary of the IAG board and his current deputy Álvaro López-Jorrín has been appointed to the role.

Lucila Rodríguez has been appointed deputy secretary.