Breaking Travel News

Skywards Gold Members Given E-Gate Access

In a world’s first, Skywards has combined its
gold card with Dubai Immigration’s ‘e-Gate Card’, to speed up the
immigration process at Dubai International Airport for top members of
Emirates’ frequent flyer programme.  Skywards’ Gold Card members resident in the UAE or in countries listed as
visa waivered, can use the free multi-application card for speedy exit and
entry through the airport, doing away with the need to queue up for
immigration formalities.

The innovative e-Gate Card, issued by the Dubai Naturalisation & Residency
Department (DNRD), usually costs Dhs150 (US$40).  It is part of Dubai
International Airport’s fully-automated immigration control facility, which
provides a fast-track immigration clearance using smart technology and
biometric scans. 


Emirates’ Chairman, His Highness Sheikh Ahmed bin Saeed Al-Maktoum, said:

“The Dubai International Airport is Emirates’ hub so it makes good sense to
supply our most frequent travellers with this great time-saving facility.
We are grateful to DNRD for allowing Skywards to provide this free service
to our members.”



Lieutenant Colonel Khalid Lootah, Assistant Director InCharge of Information
Technology and Quality, said: “DNRD and Emirates worked together to offer
the multi-application Skywards smart card, so frequent flyers can benefit
from this state-of-the-art automated immigration clearance system.”


Skywards Gold Card members residing in the UAE and in countries that are
part of the UAE’s Visa Waiver Act can activate the e-gate component of their
membership card by visiting any of Dubai Immigration’s issuing offices in
Dubai. Locations include Dubai International Airport Departure area; Dnata
Travel Centre, Sheikh Zayed Road; Jebel Ali Port Passport office; and Dubai
Immigration building, Trade Centre Road. 


Visa waiver countries are as follows: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Britain,
Brunei, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Germany, Holland, Hong
Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Lichtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia,
Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, South Korea,
Sweden, Switzerland, USA and the Vatican.