Breaking Travel News

Atlantic Records and New Line Cinema to assist Caribbean Hurricane efforts

The U.S.-based record label which has released a
string of hits from Caribbean artists - including such major names as Sean Paul,
Kevin Lyttle, Elephant Man, and Rupee - has offered to assist the Caribbean
countries affected by this year’s hurricanes.
Atlantic Records and New Line Cinema will donate ten percent of the profits from the
forthcoming “After The Sunset” motion picture soundtrack album to the Caribbean
Tourism Organization (CTO) Relief Fund, established by CTO to provide monetary
assistance to affected countries.   

“Atlantic Records has a close relationship with the Caribbean because of the number
of artists from the region who have signed with the label,” said Joi Brown, the
label’s Vice President of Marketing. “We are pleased to come to the assistance of
the countries that were affected by the hurricanes by contributing to the Caribbean
Tourism Organization Relief Fund.”

The action comedy After the Sunset, directed by Brett Ratner (Rush Hour, Red
Dragon), is a story of friendship, suspicion and thievery.  Presented by New Line
Cinema, the Caribbean heist caper was shot on location in the Bahamas and stars
Pierce Brosnan, Salma Hayak, and Woody Harrelson. The Atlantic soundtrack album is a
collection of sizzling cuts from some of today’s most innovative Caribbean artists - including Sean Paul (featuring Tego Calderon), Kevin Lyttle, and Rupee - alongside
classic tracks from the likes of Dawn Penn, Junior Murvin, and Shaggy.  The first
single from the album is “Tempted To Touch,” from soca superstar Rupee.

“We at the CTO truly appreciate Atlantic Records’ kind gesture,” said Karen
Ford-Warner, CTO’s acting secretary general, of the promised monetary contribution.
She went on to comment, “By featuring Caribbean artists on the soundtrack, Atlantic
is providing immense exposure to the region’s music, which is an important component
of our tourism product.”

After the Sunset opens in theatres in North America on November 12, while the
soundtrack album will be released on October 26.