Breaking Travel News

WTTC announces Awards shortlist

WTTC announces Awards shortlist

The World Travel & Tourism Council has announced the 12 finalists for the 2010 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards.

The prestigious Awards recognise best practice in sustainable tourism in four different categories – Destination Stewardship, Conservation, Community Benefit and Global Tourism Business.

More than 160 entries were received this year from more than 45 countries.

The 2010 Finalists for the Destination Stewardship Award are:

• Botswana Tourism Board, Botswana


• Country of Montenegro, Ministry of Tourism, Montenegro

• Mount Huangshan Scenic Site, China

For the Conservation Award:

• Emirates Hotels & Resorts, UAE

• Inkaterra Perú SAC, Peru

• Singita Grumeti Reserves, Tanzania

For the Community Benefit Award:

• Namibia’s Communal Conservancy Tourism Sector / NACSO, Namibia

• Tourindia, India

• Whale Watch Kaikoura Ltd, New Zealand

And for the Global Tourism Business Award, the finalists are:

• Accor, France & Global

• Banyan Tree Holdings, Singapore & Global

• Wilderness Safaris, South Africa & Global

The 12 finalists were selected by an international team of independent judges in each of the four award categories for having successfully demonstrated sustainable tourism practices.

These include the protection of natural and cultural heritage, social and economic benefits to local people, and environmentally friendly operations.

The winners will be revealed at the Global Travel & Tourism Summit, on May 25, 2010, in Beijing, China.