Breaking Travel News

Delta Starts Codeshare Flights with Air Nigeria

Delta Starts Codeshare Flights with Air Nigeria

Delta Air Lines, the leading airline between the United States and Africa, today announced the start of codeshare service with Air Nigeria, one of Nigeria’s premier airlines focused on delivering excellent customer service.

Initially, Air Nigeria will place its code on Delta-operated services between Atlanta and Lagos, Nigeria effective 15 June as well as New York-JFK to Abuja, Nigeria effective 4 July.

“We are delighted to begin codeshare services with Air Nigeria, a key partner in Africa, which will expand travel options and increase customer choice,” said Perry Cantarutti, Delta’s senior vice president - Europe, Middle East and Africa. “Africa remains an important part of Delta’s international network strategy and the codeshare with Air Nigeria will bring increased access between destinations in West and Central Africa and the United States.”

The two airlines are also planning to start a reciprocal frequent flyer agreement that allows customers from Delta’s SkyMiles and Air Nigeria’s eagleflier® programs to earn and redeem miles for flights. Implementation is expected to begin later this year.

“This codeshare arrangement is strategically important for Air Nigeria as it complements the objective of the airline to provide seamless service for passengers flying between West Africa and the U.S.,” said Kinfe Kahssaye, Air Nigeria’s Chief Executive Officer. He further noted that “the cooperation will also pave the way for Nigeria to be the gate way between Africa and USA and further develop trade and tourism between USA and Africa.”


Delta is the only airline to fly direct from the U.S. to two Nigerian cities, Lagos and Abuja, offering nine* weekly flights. Since launching service to Lagos in December 2007, Delta has carried nearly a half-million customers to and from Nigeria. Delta, which began service to Africa in December 2006, today operates direct flights from the U.S. to six African cities in five countries.