Breaking Travel News

Olazabal names vice-captains ahead of Ryder Cup

Olazabal names vice-captains ahead of Ryder Cup

Jose Maria Olazabal has named Darren Clarke, Paul McGinley and Thomas Bjorn as three of a potential four vice-captains ahead of the Ryder Cup next month.

Europe will defend the title they won during the 38th Ryder Cup, which was held in October 2010 at the Celtic Manor Resort in the city of Newport, Wales.

The 39th Ryder Cup will be between September 28th–30th this year, at the Medinah Country Club in Medinah, Illinois.

Olazabal will announce his fourth vice-captain, as well as his two wildcard picks, on August 27th.

Clarke, McGinley and Bjorn were all named as vice-captains by Colin Montgomerie when he captained the site during the 2010 Ryder Cup.

“For me to have these guys by my side is fantastic,” Olazabal told a press conference earlier.

“All three are world-class golfers with tremendous experience of playing in the Ryder Cup which is absolutely invaluable.”

The trio have played in ten Ryder Cups between them, with nine wins to their credit.