Breaking Travel News

Sheraton brands go smoke free

Starwood has announced that its Sheraton and Four Points by Sheraton hotel brands will implement a smoke-free policy at more than 300 hotels and resorts throughout the U.S., Caribbean and Canada.Sheraton and Four Points by Sheraton have begun converting all smoking guestrooms to non-smoking in preparation for the new policy. In addition, all public areas will also be 100% smoke-free.

Sheraton and Four Points by Sheraton hotels decision to go smoke-free reflects both brands’ commitment to providing guests with a clean, comfortable and healthy stay. The new policy also follows in the footsteps of their sister brand, Westin, who became the first hotel chain to go smoke-free in January 2006 when the brand introduced the policy across all hotels in the U.S., Canada and Caribbean. Due to the overwhelming feedback from guests Westin hotels in Australia, Fiji, and Scotland have also gone smoke-free.

To prepare for the new policy approximately 8,000 smoking rooms will undergo an extensive cleaning process. This includes deep cleaning all soft goods, and treating all hard surfaces, walls and carpets to eliminate allergens, replacing air filters and deep cleaning all air conditioning units.

“We are committed to the health and quality of life of our guests and associates and that includes providing a clean, smoke-free environment,” said Hoyt Harper II, Senior Vice President for Sheraton Hotels & Resorts and Four Points by Sheraton. “Our core customers are road warriors who we know endure a rigorous travel schedule. At Sheraton and Four Points by Sheraton we want to provide a welcoming, comfortable atmosphere that is healthy.”

All Sheraton and Four Points by Sheraton hotels and resorts in the U.S., Caribbean and Canada will offer a designated outdoor area for guests who smoke.


There are currently 70 Sheraton and Four Points by Sheraton hotels in the U.S., Canada & Caribbean that are currently smoke-free. Both hotel brands expect to be completely smoke-free in the U.S. and Canada by December 31, 2008.