Breaking Travel News

Foreign Office seeks to clarify US travel ban

Foreign Office seeks to clarify US travel ban

British foreign secretary Boris Johnson has sought to clarify a travel ban to the United States during conversations with the government officials.

President Trump signed a ban on immigration from seven countries on Friday, halting the entire US refugee programme for 120 days.

The same order indefinitely banned Syrian refugees, and suspended visas for all nationals from seven Muslim-majority countries.

Hundreds of travellers who were already mid-flight when the order was issued were detained on arrival in the United States.

Several court orders have been imposed to overturn the plan, while there have been mass protests against it around the world.

Following confusion over the exact specifications of the ban, the Foreign Office said earlier the order only applies to individuals travelling from one of the seven named countries.


These are Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

The executive order does not apply to travellers arriving in the US from anywhere other than one of those countries, for instance, the UK.

Travellers from the UK will therefore experience no extra checks, regardless of nationality or place of birth.

The FCO added that the order does not apply to UK nationals who are travelling from one of those countries to the US - even to travellers who were born in one of those countries.

Dual nationals coming from one of the seven countries themselves - for example a UK-Libya dual national coming from Libya to the US - may have extra checks imposed.

Following an outcry, president Trump said visas would once again be issued once “the most secure policies” were in place.

Trump has also sought to deny the ban is targeted at Muslim travellers.