World Travel Awards extends self nomination deadline

4th Feb 2011
World Travel Awards extends self nomination deadline

World Travel Awards has announced an extension to the self-nomination deadline due to overwhelming demand.

Originally scheduled to close on 4 February, the deadline has been extended a further two weeks to Friday 18 February.

This year has seen an unprecedented number of self nominations with hundreds of organisations eager to take part in the “Oscars of the travel industry”. Winners will be able to savour the kudos associated with holding the ultimate travel accolade, as well as numerous commercial benefits.

Given the huge increase in self nominations this year, competition for companies wishing to retain their titles from 2010 will be fiercer than ever. New companies meanwhile will have had to have brought something extra special to the market if they are to snatch the crowns in their categories.

Entry will remain open to categories in Africa, Asia, Australasia, the Caribbean, Central America, Europe, Indian Ocean, Middle East, North America, South America, Travel Technology and World.

The entry form can be completed online or downloaded from

The World Travel Awards was launched in 1993 to acknowledge and recognise excellence in the world’s travel and tourism industry.

Now celebrating its 18th anniversary, the awards is regarded as the very highest achievement that a travel product could ever hope to receive.

Votes are cast by 183,000 travel professionals, including travel agencies, tour and transport companies and tourism organizations in over 160 countries across the globe.

Attended by senior executives from major travel companies, operators and destinations, WTA events are universally respected as providing established, top-level networking opportunities, regionally and globally.

To find out more about the self nomination process visit



Recommended for you

Related Video

Peter Baumgartner, CCO, Etihad Airways @ WTA Grand Final 2010 Peter Baumgartner, CCO, Etihad Airways @ WTA Grand Final 2010
Posted on: 7 Nov 2010 at 02:45 PM

Peter Baumgartner, CCO, Etihad Airways

Related Event

World Travel Awards Middle East Gala Ceremony 2011 World Travel Awards Middle East Gala Ceremony 2011
Event starts: Monday, 2nd May 2011

The 2011 winners of Middle East World Travel Awards will be announced at the annual Middle East Gala Ceremony to be held this year in Dubai, UAE on May 2nd

Follow Breaking Travel News

Travel Events Calendar

Media Partnerships

Global Restaurant Investment ForumThe Hospitality & Tourism SummitCATHIC
ITB AsiaChina Outbound Travel & Tourism MarketThe Travel Marketing Store
Serviced Apartment SummitWorld Travel MarketIMEX
AHICWTTCRoutes Online
UBM Aviation