Progress of Tourist Visa on Arrival Scheme

12th May 2011

The country wise break up of VoAs issued during April 2011 was, Indonesia (255), New Zealand (241), Philippines (231), Japan (194), Singapore (165), Finland (105), Vietnam (13), Myanmar (12), Luxemburg (11) and Cambodia (7).

The country wise break up of VoAs issued during January-April 2011 was, New Zealand (946), Japan (777), Philippines (623), Singapore (596), Indonesia (551), Finland (516), Cambodia (49), Vietnam (32), Luxemburg (25) Myanmar (23), and Laos (1).

During the period January-April 2011, the maximum number of VoAs were issued at Delhi airport (2228), followed by Mumbai (1009), Chennai (684) and Kolkata (218).

As a facilitative measure to attract more foreign tourists to India, Government has launched a Scheme of “Visa on Arrival” (VoA) from January 2010 for citizens of five countries, viz. Finland, Japan, Luxembourg, New Zealand and Singapore, visiting India for tourism purposes. This scheme has been extended for the citizens of six more countries, namely Cambodia, Indonesia, Vietnam, Philippines, Laos and Myanmar from January 2011.


Recommended for you

Follow Breaking Travel News

Travel Events Calendar

Media Partnerships

Global Restaurant Investment ForumThe Hospitality & Tourism SummitCATHIC
ITB AsiaChina Outbound Travel & Tourism MarketThe Travel Marketing Store
Serviced Apartment SummitWorld Travel MarketIMEX
AHICWTTCRoutes Online
UBM Aviation