Best Western Announces Board Elections

Best Western International Inc. members have re-elected board director Nayan Patel, McLean, Va. to a second three-year term and the board has
named him chairman. Best Western also announces two new board directors, Roman Jaworowicz, Midland, Ontario, Canada and Raymond Johnston, Palm Springs, Calif. Jaworowicz and Johnston replace John Van Duyn, Dubuque, Iowa and Cindy Binkele, San Luis Obispo, Calif., respectively, who have completed their second three-year board terms.

Patel, formerly board vice chairman, began his one year appointment as chairman of the seven-member board Dec. 1, 2003. He replaces Lowell Cruse who will remain on the board as a director. Patel owns and operates eight
hotels in the Washington, D.C. area including five Best Western properties. Patel, an active Best Western member since 1987, has served as
chairman of the Compensation Committee for the past two years, and has been involved in regional marketing and advertising co-ops. Patel has an undergraduate degree from Duke University and holds a law degree from Georgetown University.

Nils Kindgren, previously secretary/treasurer, is board vice chairman. Kindgren owns and operates the Best Western Sun City Inn and Suites in Sun City, Ariz. A member of Best Western since 1985, he has been an active member of various Best Western marketing, advertising and leadership committees, as well as industry organizations such as the national and state chapters of the American Hotel and Lodging Association.

Larry McRae replaces Kindgren as secretary/treasurer. McRae owns and operates the Best Western Grant Creek Inn in Missoula, Mont. and has been
a member of Best Western since 1985. He has been in the hospitality industry since 1961, and has operated hotels in Colorado, Montana and Texas. McRae has served in various capacities as a Best Western governor
and on the Executive Marketing Advisory Committee.

An active Best Western member since 1985, Roman Jaworowicz is the first Canadian director to serve on the board. Jaworowicz owns and operates the Best Western Highland Inn and Conference Centre in Midland, Ontario. He chaired the Best Western Ontario Marketing Co-op, was a member of the CEO Roundtable, and most recently served as a District III governor representing the Central Ontario North Region. Active in Canadian tourism
and commerce, Jaworowicz is a member of the Midland Rotary club and a founding member of the Midland-Penetanguishene Tourism Consortium, both in
Also elected to his first term on the board is Raymond Johnston, owner of the Best Western Las Brisas, Palm Springs, Calif. Prior to joining the Best Western family in 1993, Johnston enjoyed a distinguished
international hotel career with several major hotel chains. For Westin Hotels, he opened the landmark Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles.
Johnston has also opened and managed hotels for Princess International Hotels, Americana Hotels International and Holiday Inns of Mexico. Johnston is principal of Las Brisas Hotels Inc., Palm Springs, Calif.


Completing the third year of his second term as a board director is Ken Smotherman, owner of the Best Western Old Main Lodge in Waco, Texas.
Smotherman served as chairman of the board in 2002.

Best Western is governed by a seven-member board of directors, elected by Best Western member hoteliers in seven geographic regions in North America. Each region or district has an average of 300 Best Western properties. Board members must be Best Western member hoteliers, they are elected to a three- year term and may be re-elected once.