Leading Hotels Quality Award Winners

PRNewswire LONDON Nov. 9 :

The Leading Hotels of the World, Ltd. yesterday announced the winners of
the Second Annual Commitment to Quality Awards during its 2003
International Convention, held in London, November 7-9, 2003.

As the world`s foremost authority for grading and inspecting hotels,
Leading established the Commitment to Quality Awards last year as the
benchmark for global luxury standards in the hospitality industry.

These prestigious awards recognize Leading Hotels and Leading Small Hotels
in six regions: Africa/Middle East, Asia, Europe, Mexico/Caribbean, North
America and South America. The winners are those properties which achieved
the highest scores during their most recent Leading Hotels` impartial,
anonymous inspections.

At the presentation in London, a special award was also given to the hotel
that achieved the highest inspection score overall.


The awards, which objectively measure the hotels from the traveler`s
perspective, are based solely on the results of stringent inspections by
Leading Quality Assurance, a joint venture company of The Leading Hotels
of the World, Ltd., providing full-service inspection services and
assessment programs. With more than 1,500 criteria, these inspection
reports are the most comprehensive in the luxury industry.

Welf Ebeling, Executive Vice President and COO of The Leading Hotels of
the World, Ltd. said, “While there is a plethora of awards in the luxury
hospitality sector, this accolade is becoming the benchmark for global
standards in judging the truly best hotels in the world.”

“Our organization represents diverse properties, yet all are harmonious in
their uncompromising standards and goals for guest satisfaction. Leading`s
criteria are the highest in the industry and this significant award
acknowledges the hotels` achievements and their evolution to meet the high
demands of the upscale business and leisure traveler,” he continued.

Over the past three years, The Leading Hotels of the World. Ltd. has
inspected and reinspected all of its member hotels, also visiting hundreds
of non-member hotels applying for membership. This broad first-hand
knowledge enables the Leading inspectors to set specific criteria,
establishing rigorous standards.

The winners of the 2003 Commitment to Quality Awards are:

Emirates Towers Hotel, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
  ///    Banyan Tree Seychelles, Mahe, Republic of Seychelles
  The Peninsula, Bangkok, Thailand
  ////  The Datai, Langkawi, Malaysia
  Baur au Lac, Zurich, Switzerland
  ////  One Aldwych, London, England*
  One&Only Ocean Club ////  Paradise Island, Bahamas
  Paraiso de la Bonita & Thalasso, Cancun, Mexico*

////  North America
  - The Peninsula, New York, New York
  Wheatleigh, Lenox, Massachusetts*

////  South America
  Hotel Monasterio, Cusco, Peru*

////  Highest Score Overall
  The Datai, Langkawi, Malaysia*

////  (* denotes a Leading Small Hotel)

The Leading Hotels of the World, Ltd. is the prestigious luxury
hospitality organization representing more than 400 of the world`s finest
hotels, and operator of http://www.lhw.com/—the online source for your
luxury lifestyle. For reservations and information, visit
http://www.lhw.com/ or telephone toll-free from the USA, Canada, Puerto
Rico and the US Virgin Islands, (800) 223-6800.