Cathay Pacific Launch at Business Travel 2002

Cathay Pacific Airways announced that it`s popular notiFLY flight paging service
has been enhanced so that frequent flyers can opt to automatically receive text message updates of departure times and any status changes sent to their mobile phones or email accounts every time they fly with Cathay Pacific.

Above: Tony Tyler - Director Corporate Development, launching at Business Travel 2002

Previously passengers had to make separate requests for notiFLY messages for each individual flight via either Cathay Pacific Website, or a handheld device.
Another optional feature of notiFLY Auto Messaging is Pre-flight email which sends an at-a-glance summary of the travel itinery and destination information for every booking. The email includes one click access to Cathay Pacific`s unique Online Check-in and the option of sending additional notiFLY massages to confirm arrival times to any `meeters and greeters`. Up-to-date weather forecasts and flight destination information are also included in the email message. In future, Cathay Pacific plans to expand notiFLY to include other messaging services such as waiting list confirmation.
Lawrence Fong, Manager of Cathay Pacific`s e-journal team said: “Personalised services like notiFLY Auto Messaging are possible thanks to the investment that we have made in e-business. It is a unique service from Cathay Pacific and it offers a real benefit to frequent flyers by simplifying their travel arrangements. Because the new service is fully automated from our computer system it also provides Cathay Pacific cost benefits allowing us to push ahead with other enhancements such as our exciting new Business Class product product and another premium lounge, The Pier.
Mobile phone subscribers in every country served by Cathay Pacific can receive the automatic notiFLY text messages in English, Chinese, Japanese or Korean. The service is available in Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Korea, Luxembourg, Macau, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Philippines, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, UAE, UK, USA and Vietnam.