Cuba becomes the latest victim of Swine Flu

The latest figures from the World Health Organisation show that 30 countries have now officially reported 5251 cases of A(H1N1) infection commonly referred to as Swine Flu. The most recent of these countries to add to the list is Cuba, with just one out of the suspected 84 cases returning positive for the virus.

The victim is said to have been one of a number of Mexican students to arrive on the island from various Mexican states at the end of April.
Mexico is reported to have had 2059 laboratory confirmed human cases of infection including 56 tragic death, the most out of any country so far. The US have reported 2600 confirmed cases that include 3 deaths , Canada have 330 reported cases with one death and Costa Rica have had eight reported lab cases that include one death. Its is still not known why the virus is so much stronger inside the Mexico boarders but scientists are still working on this virus previously unseen in either human or animals.

Countries with official reported cases of the virus but no reported deaths are Argentina (1), Australia (1), Austria (1), Brazil (8), China (2, comprising 1 in China, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, and 1 in mainland China), Colombia (3), Denmark (1), El Salvador (4), France (13), Germany (12), Guatemala (1), Ireland (1), Israel (7), Italy (9), Japan (4), Netherlands (3), New Zealand (7), Norway (2), Panama (16), Poland (1), Portugal (1), Republic of Korea (3), Spain (95), Sweden (2), Switzerland (1) and the United Kingdom (55).

At this time, WHO is not recommending travel restriction to anyone feeling well. Those who are feeling unwell should seek medical advice and follow normal procedure for containment of illnesses.