EU adds Indonesia, Angola airlines to blacklist

The European Commission has deemed all Indonesian airlines, including flag carrier Garuda to be unsafe and in violation of EU safety standards, Angola’s TAAG has also been banned. These carriers will be banned from flying to all 27 countries in the European Union within a week after the commission’s air safety committee updated its “blacklist.”

The ban will include all 51 airlines certified in Indonesia. Angola’s TAAG Angolan Airlines and Volare Aviation Enterprise of Ukraine are also banned. Ten Russian airlines, six from EU member Bulgaria and eight from Moldova will cease operations within the bloc.

Restrictions on Pakistan International Airlines (PIA) were relaxed by the committee. The airline is now allowed to fly with specific Boeing 747 and Airbus 310 planes in addition to its Boeing 777 fleet.

The ban is also a warning to the consumers and travel agencies not to use the country’s airlines, an EU official informed news wires.

“The EU blacklist will prove to be an essential tool not only to prevent unsafe airlines from flying to Europe ... but also to make sure that airlines and civil aviation authorities take appropriate actions to improve safety,” Transport Commissioner Jacques Barrot said in a statement.