Biometric group talks on U.S. travel

6th Feb 2006

On February 9, the International Biometric Group (IBG) will host a teleconference on the U.S. Registered Traveler Program.
The teleconference will be held at 1:00 PM EST (10:00 AM PST; 1800 UTC).

The Registered Traveler (RT) program is a nationwide private sector initiative being established by the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) that will permit pre-qualified participants to benefit from accelerated security screening.

Federally funded RT pilots at five major airports and a private sector subpilot have tested how utilizing biometric technology and security assessments can contribute to enhanced security and increased customer service at U.S. airports.

Following up on the pilots at Minneapolis- St. Paul, Los Angeles, Houston Bush Intercontinental, Boston, and Washington, D.C., the TSA has committed to begin operating a nationwide Registered Traveler program in June 2006.

IBG Consultant Dana Marohn will address the following aspects of the RT program development:


—Differing opinions from airport, airline, privacy and technology

—Technology issues relating to the evolving approach to iris and
    fingerprint data

—Interoperability across U.S. airports and with international travel

—Business case analysis and financial models


There is no fee to participate in IBG’s teleconference series. Visit to participate and to obtain further details.

For more information, or to find out how IBG’s research, consulting, and integration services can fulfill your needs, please contact Victor Lee at 1-212-809-9491, or via email at [email protected]


Recommended for you

Follow Breaking Travel News

Travel Events Calendar

Media Partnerships

Global Restaurant Investment ForumThe Hospitality & Tourism SummitCATHIC
ITB AsiaChina Outbound Travel & Tourism MarketThe Travel Marketing Store
Serviced Apartment SummitWorld Travel MarketIMEX
AHICWTTCRoutes Online
UBM Aviation