Country Inns & Suites Introduces Children’s Library

20th May 2004

Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
announces a family travel package at its 300+ North American hotels that
coincides with the introduction of a children’s section of the hotels’
in-house lending library, “Book It And Return.” The first children’s book
to be introduced in the library is A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad
Beginning by Lemony Snicket. Guests booking the Summer Family BookBreak Package through September 15
will receive a special rate; kids 18 and under stay free with adult; free
breakfast; and a book bag filled with Bad Beginning-themed items.

“Research shows that the number of books children read during summer
consistently relates to academic gains in school,” states Nancy Johnson,
executive vice president and brand leader for Country Inns & Suites By
Carlson. “We’re offering traveling families a convenient way to keep
children reading during summer vacations.”

Book It And Return lends free books to guests. For every book returned to
a Country Inns & Suites in North America, the company donates $5 to
ProLiteracy Worldwide, an international literacy nonprofit.

For reservations and information, visit
or call 800-456-4000 and ask for the Summer Family BookBreak Package
featuring Lemony Snicket.

Country Inns & Suites feature traditional architecture and sophisticated
residential interior design with hardwood flooring, lobby fireplace and
decorative borders. The rooms offer amenities often found at higher-priced
hotels such as complimentary breakfast, in-room hair dryer, coffee maker,
and weekday morning newspaper. Country Inns & Suites is known for its
consistently high quality accommodations and personal, warm hospitality.


A Series of Unfortunate Events has shocked and engrossed more than 18
million readers worldwide since the release of the first book, The Bad
Beginning, in 1999. Each of the ten (soon to be 11) books in the series
has reached the New York Times Best Sellers list. The 11th book in the
series, The Grim Grotto is scheduled to hit bookstores this September.

Literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of
Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of
Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemony Snicket’s uproariously unhappy books
continue to win readers everywhere, despite his continued warnings.


Recommended for you

Follow Breaking Travel News

Travel Events Calendar

Media Partnerships

Global Restaurant Investment ForumThe Hospitality & Tourism SummitCATHIC
ITB AsiaChina Outbound Travel & Tourism MarketThe Travel Marketing Store
Serviced Apartment SummitWorld Travel MarketIMEX
AHICWTTCRoutes Online
UBM Aviation